1997 MAC Award Winners and Nominees

Ceremony: Lincoln Center

Female Vocalist

Lisa Asher
Baby Jane Dexter
Natalie Gamsu
Marilyn VolpeMale Vocalist

Tom Andersen
Charles Chermele
Christian Nova
Tom Postilio

Major Female Vocalist

Ann Hampton Callaway
Karen Mason
Julie Wilson

Major Male Vocalist

Vic Damone
Phillip Officer
Anthony Newley
Bobby Short

Female Jazz/R&B Vocalist

Judy Barnett
BJ Crosby
Natalie Douglas

Male Jazz/R&B Vocalist

Allan Harris
Curtis Stigers
Dane Vannatter

Major Female Jazz/R&B Vocalist

Barbara Carroll
Diane Schuur
Nancy Wilson

Major Male Jazz/R&B Vocalist

Lionel Hampton
John Pizzarelli
Billy Stritch
Joe Williams

Female NY Debut

Barbara Brussel
Gentry Leland Claussen
Marieileen O’Brien
Paula West

Male NY Debut

David Campbell
Gary Lyons
Crayton Robey
Samuel Sagenkahn

Musical Comedy

Jay Rogers
Marilyn Sokol
Kristine Zbornik

Female Stand-up Comedy

Sundra Coonquist
Cory Kahaney
Linda Smith

Male Stand-up Comedy

Eddie Brill
Jim David
Jeff Ross

Major Female Comedy

Joy Behar
Julie Halston
Rita Rudner

Major Male Comedy

Mario Cantone
Mal Z. Lawrence
Paul Provenza

Cabaret Comedy/Monology

Tracey Berg
John Fugelsang
Clinton Leupp

Vocal Group

“The Accidentals”

Comedy/Improv Group

“Bitch! Bitch! Bitch!”
“Gotham City Improv”
“Scared Scriptless”
Verhaeghe and Ginsberg


Variety Production

Jamie deRoy and Friends
“Monday Night Madness” Angela LaGreca
Saturday at Rose’s Turn with Kristine Zbornik and Seth RudetskySpecial Production

Laurie Beechman & Sam Harris
Erik and the Snow Maidens
Steve Ross and Judy Carmichael


James Beaman
Steven Brinberg
Varla Jean Merman
Ruby Rims


Tim DiPasqua
Julie Gold
Eric Hansen
Mark Nadler

Jazz Singer and/or Instrumentalist

Rick DellaRatta
Diva Band
Jay Leonhart
Jo Thompson
Joe Traina Quartet

Piano Bar Pianist

Charles DeForest
Bobby Peaco
Jerry Scott
John Wallowitch

Piano Bar Entertainment

Lizz Manners
Ginni McGrath
Terri White

Musical Director

Christopher Denny
Wally Harper
Christopher Marlowe


Gerard Alessandrini
Hope Hardcastle
Barry Kleinbort

Technical Director

Bobby Kneeland
Jaye Lee
Shawn Moninger

Revue of the Year

Big City Rhythm
The Songs of Barry Kleinbort
Brief History of White Music
Forbidden Broadway Strikes Back

Song of the Year

“Let Love Lead the Way” Tom Andersen and Tim DiPasqua
“As I Remember Him” Portia Nelson
“We Can Be Kind” David Friedman

Special Musical Material

“Summer Movies” Gerard Allessandrini
“The Alto’s Lament” Marcy Heisler & Zina Goldrich
“I’m Having an Affair with a Musician” Gary Lyons
“Where are the Waltzes” Bobby Peaco and John Richard Thompson

Recording of the Year

“Bad and Blue” Baby Jane Dexter
“Gifts of Love” Alix Korey
“You Fascinate Me So” Marilyn Volpe

Major Recording of the Year
“An Evening at Carnegie Hall” Betty Buckley
“To Ella With Love” Ann Hampton Callaway
“Sibling Revelry” Ann Hampton Callaway and Liz Callaway
“Better Days” Karen Mason

Hanson Award
Elena Bennett

Lifetime Achievement and Board of Directors
Burton Lane
Andrea Marcovicci
Frank Military
Wayman Wong