1995 MAC Award Nominees and Winners

Ceremony held at the Copacabana

Female Vocalist

Claiborne Cary
Baby Jane Dexter
Sally Mayes
Male Vocalist

Eric Michael Gillett
Michael Marotta
Christian Nova
Billy Porter

Major New York Music Engagement

Rosemary Clooney
Nancy LaMott
Amanda McBroom
Julie Wilson

Jazz Vocalist

Judy Barnett
Mercedes Hall
Thos Shipley

Major Jazz Vocalist

Jay Leonhart
Annie Ross
Billy Stritch

Special Musical Material

“My Simple Christmas Wish” David Friedman
“It’s Impossible to Sing and Play the Bass” Jay Leonhart
‘Piano Bar Hell” George Winters

Female Stand-Up Comic

Susie Essman
Judy Gold
Suzanne Westenhoefer

Male Stand-Up Comic

Eddie Brill
Jim David
Daryl Hammond

Major New York Comedy

Joy Behar
Mario Cantone
Adrianne Tolsch

Female New York Debut

Judy Argo
Jessica Bass
Stephanie Pope

Male New York Debut

Tim DiPasqua
John Fugelsang
Marcus Lovett

Song Of The Year

“Gershwin Tune” Francesca Blumenthal
“Errol Flynn” Amanda McBroom & Gordon Hunt
“Confession of a New Yorker” Portia Nelson

Recording Of The Year

“Bring Back Romance” Ann Hampton Callaway
“Live From London” Barbara Cook
“Just In Time For Christmas” Nancy LaMott

Female Musical Comedy

Helen Baldassare
Alix Korey
Angela LaGreca


Vocal Group

The Jenny Burton Experience
The Tonics
Wallowitch and Ross

Julie Halston
Steve Hayes
Georgia Ragsdale

Randy Allen
Steven Brinberg
Tommy Femia
Ricky Ritzel “Jimmy Durante: Schnozzola!”
Variety Show

Jamie deRoy & Friends


Richard Rodney Bennett
Gerry Dieffenbach
Ricky Ritzel

Revue Of The Year

“Honky Tonky Highway” Robert Nassif Lindsay
Me and Jezebel
Until the Balance Tips

Piano Bar Entertainer

Lizz Manners
Terri White
Kristine Zbornik

Piano Bar Pianist

Charles De Forest
Patrick DeGennaro
Bobby Peaco
Jerry Scott
Larry Woodard

Musical Director

Richard Rodney Bennett
Christopher Denney
Dick Gallagher
Christopher Marlowe
Joel Silberman


Scott Barnes
Barry Kleinbort
Jim Luzar
Joel Silberman

Technical Director

Matt Berman
Jaye Lee
Shawn Moninger

Lifetime Achievement
Anne Francine

Board Of Directors Award
Stan Martin
Martin Schaeffer

Hanson Award
David Gurland